Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Devon

Here starts Devon's early August story

263 posts in this topic

My early August story follows. Like all the others, submitted successfully to Baen.

I will get back to see comments---IF ANY---a bit later tonight because work is hell right now due to the change in the world currency markets.

If the story is ignored and drops out of sight, I will understand.

I write for the love of writing.

Love,

Devon

SIXTY-TWO YEARS OF HELL IN OHIO

by Devon Pitlor, M.A. econ

I. How to compose a very boring opening.

As a professional economist, I am used to tedium. And I love boring people because that is the way we so-called finance experts obfuscate our actual ignorance. But on the day when this story opens, all earthly boredom could be summed up in one word: Ohio.

Ohio. It might as well have been Uzbekistan. In fact, I would have preferred Uzbekistan, but my boss insisted otherwise. To a 25 year resident of New York City, Ohio loomed as a strange and unknown place. An endless meadow of ennui. Somewhere to avoid. A dumping ground for hayseeds and yahoos.

But the flight plans were made, and I was obliged to go. To Ohio. Somewhere "out west." Ohio. I grizzled at the thought of it.

A small brokerage in Ohio had contracted with my firm, and I was being sent out for a week as a consulting foreign exchange economist. You don't want to hear more about that. You really don't.

II. My flight plans are diverted.